About the Library
Springboro Public Library has had many homes around town. The library was first set up in 1944 as a project sponsored by the Amicus Club, a local women’s organization in town. A member set up space in her home. Soon after, the Library was given space in a corner of a town restaurant.
On August 8th, 1944, the library was official with 216 books and 2 bookcases.
As borrowing and the demand for more books increased, the library moved into a space of what later became the Variety store. It then moved to the township borough meeting rooms. In 1985, the Library outgrew that space and moved into the first floor of a duplex owned by the Borough.
In 1994, the library purchased the former hardware store on Main Street. Extensive fundraising efforts, including sales of a cookbook filled with donated recipes from local citizens, was spearheaded by Director, the late Faith Scott. The renovations were completed in 1998 and the library moved into the new facility where it still operates today.
The library now has over 10,000 items for patrons to choose from including books, videos, audiobooks, music CDs, playaways and magazines. In addition, the library has a copier, fax machine, a device charging station and two public Internet access computers and free wi-fi.
Visitors can stop in and look at our collection of historic photos and artwork depicting our Main Street.
Our board works hard to maintain the library for our town. In addition to a program for state aid to libraries set up in 1961, several fundraising events help us with the upkeep. Anyone who would like to know more can join us at our monthly board meetings. The meetings are held on the third Monday of the month at 6:00pm at the library.